A farmer’s daughter

This morning I woke up whistling the song, ‘Impossible Dream’.  I googled the lyrics because I hadn’t heard it in a while, and was shocked at how much they resonate with me.

To dream the impossible dream
To fight the unbeatable foe
To bear with unbearable sorrow
To run where the brave dare not go.
Verse 1 – The Impossible Dream, by Andy Williams
The more I learn of the unspeakable wrongs that are being done every day, of the language and social constructions that support them and about the institutions and power that enforce them, the more I am determined to fight against injustice until I draw my last breath.  Very dramatic of me I know, but I’m serious.  I may not literally shed my blood (although, when fighting against the second largest trade in the world, that is a distinct possibility), but I am willing to expend all my energy and time doing whatever I can, however small, to fight against some of the largest human rights abuses in the world: domestic violence, human trafficking and prostitution.
However bleeding-heart it may be, the rights and humanity of the victims and survivors of these and other travesties are simply what gets me out of bed each morning.  That and the call of the mountains, but that’s another story.
I am a farmer’s daughter.  I love the land, this sunburnt country, and I am proud to call it my home.  For a long time, this beautiful country was cared for by the traditional owners, both Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders, and I acknowledge their wisdom, and their resilience in the face of oppression.
Despite Australia being known for the ‘Aussie battler’, the indomitable ANZAC spirit, and the she’ll-be-right-mate attitude, domestic violence and yes, human trafficking, happens every day in this country.  Rural Australia faces even more hardship due to the lack of services and difficulties in accessing support and services which are spread thinly across vast distances.
Therefore, I have decided that 2017 is going to be a year of exploration and discovery.  I am excited about the subjects I’ll be studying at uni, and I am going to make the most of the year by travelling around Queensland and to a special program in Germany on intercultural social work.
In particular I’m keen to meet with and listen to those on the front line of services, and with members of small communities, to discover what challenges they face and to acknowledge the hard work being done by so many.
This blog will be my journal as I travel and I would be honoured if you’d join me on social media or email subscription.  If you see me around, say G’day!
2 thoughts on “A farmer’s daughter

  1. What a fantastic start to your blogging journey, I can’t wait to read more about your adventures. Your wisdom and commitment have always shone through in person and I can see already how well your writing will convey all that you are determined to achieve and the integrity and honesty that you apply to all areas of your life, and in particular to these important issues. Can’t wait!

    Like

Leave a Reply

